2024 ACT National Awards

Each year, the Association for Commuter Transportation (ACT) recognizes and honors outstanding achievements in the field of Transportation Demand Management (TDM) at the annual ACT International Conference.

Winners of past awards have included individuals, public and private sector agencies, businesses, non-profit organizations, colleges and universities, business associations, transportation management associations and transportation providers.

This year's winners will be honored at the ACT National Awards Ceremony in Denver, Colorado, on Wednesday, August 7, 2024. 
Nominations are now open and will be accepted until Monday, April 1! 

Review the list of nomination questions Learn how nominations will be judged

Submit a nomination

2024 award categories 

Visit the dropdown menus below to learn more about each award.

The Commuting Options Awards recognizes an exemplary program, policy, or service that advances one of the following commuting options: Active Commuting (including biking/cycling, walking, running, shared mobility devices such as e-scooters or dockless bikes); Public Transit (including bus and rail); Ridesharing (including carpooling, vanpooling, and TNCs); Telework / Hybrid Workplace; Best Overall Benefit Program (which combines multiple incentives and benefits). The program, policy, or service should have clear goals and demonstrate progress towards achieving those goals. One award will be presented for each of the commute option categories listed.
The ETC Champion Award is presented to a person who is responsible for transportation programs at a worksite that best demonstrates a commitment to promoting and advancing commuter transportation options at their work site.
The Excellence in Advocacy Award acknowledges an ACT member whose advocacy efforts on behalf of TDM, whether at the local, state, and/or federal level have been exceptional. The award celebrates effort, innovation, efficiency, and effectiveness and includes both individual advocacy efforts along with the organization and encouragement of others’ participation in advocacy.
The Excellence in Research Award acknowledges an ACT member or organization for recent research in transportation demand management, one of its sub disciplines, or in a related field when the research demonstrates applicability to TDM goals. Collaborative efforts may be recognized so long as one member of the team is an ACT member
The Excellence in Planning Award recognizes public agencies at the local, regional or state level who have taken notable steps to incorporate TDM into their transportation and land use planning process.
The Best Overall Marketing Campaign recognizes a campaign that was designed to educate and inform an identified audience about their commuting options, the impacts of transportation on the environment, transportation planning, and other related topics and concerns. The winning campaign will have demonstrated a high level of creativity and originality, and can show measurable results including increased audience engagement, increased brand awareness, mode shift, or significant behavior change.
The Outstanding TMA Award is presented to the TMA that is judged to have best used its public/private
partnerships to achieve local or regional transportation goals.
The Outstanding Building/Development Award recognizes a multi-tenant (residential & commercial) facility that provide commuter friendly infrastructure, programs and services, and demonstrate clear metrics to measure reduction of single occupant vehicle trips during peak hours of traffic congestion.
As an organization, ACT celebrates our differences, seeks and continues to improve equity, and supports a culture of respect. ACT is committed to a better journey for everyone in our communities, as we strive to improve the quality of life for all people. The Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Award recognizes achievements in supporting diverse populations and to create belonging in the commuter transportation and transportation demand management (TDM) environments. The company or individual nominated inspires social justice initiatives and advances DEI practices.
The Public-Private Partnership Award recognizes an instance in which one or more public sector organizations (e.g., municipality, transit agency) collaborated with one or more private sector organizations (e.g., employer) on a successful TDM initiative that benefited the participating organizations as well as the communities they serve or are a part of.

View a list of 2023 awardees