ACT in the news: Susquehanna Regional Transportation Partnership Wins Commuting Options Award

ACT in the News, General News,

The following news story was published on August 18 by

SRTP received the Commuting Options Award for Active Transportation at the Association for Commuter Transportation (ACT) 37th Annual International Conference in Seattle on August 2, 2023. This award, one of 14 distributed to Transportation Demand Management (TDM) professionals and organizations, recognizes association members for an exemplary program, policy, or service that advances active transportation. Winners include individuals and organizations performing outstanding work to create accessible, sustainable, and robust transportation infrastructure to improve mobility.

“This group is innovating, expanding commuter transportation options, and leading the industry forward,” said David McMaster, President of the Association for Commuter Transportation. “I am proud to recognize the positive impact that they continue to make for workers, communities, and businesses.”

Additional awardees include:

  • Hossein Barahimi, King County Metro
  • Community Transit
  • City of Inglewood’s Iride Program
  • Princeton University
  • Commuting Solutions, Audrey DeBarros
  • Denver Regional Council of Governments
  • Oaks and Spokes
  • Town of Chapel Hill
  • Assembly Connect TMA
  • City of Durham Bull-E Bike Program
  • Transit Services of Frederick County
  • goDCgo – Getting to the Blossoms Guide
  • Burbank Transportation Management Organization

The SRTP took the lead to create a Regional Bike Share program for local commuters by forming a committee with members from transit authorities, metropolitan planning organizations, health organizations, and city representatives. The committee, led by the SRTP, has worked to implement a regional program across South Central PA. As of today, a commuter can purchase a universal annual membership and will gain access to 4 active bike share programs, with an additional 2 communities to launch in the future.

“As the industry continues to evolve, TDM strategies and initiatives must change along with it,” said David Straus, Executive Director of the Association for Commuter Transportation. “These awardees are doing so, and actively responding to transportation challenges in a way that increases mobility and access for all people, businesses, and neighborhoods. ACT is honored to celebrate these winners and their exemplary work.”

Read the full news story at